Tags

Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

Since we’re well into July, I decided to do The Mid-Year Freak Out Tag created by Ely and Chami at A Book So Fathomless.  I keep seeing this tag pop up everywhere, and I just couldn’t resist joining in the fun!  I have read a bunch of great books this year so far, and I’m excited to see where the rest of the year takes me!

Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?

6723017

The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton. I absolutely loved this book. It was everything I wanted and gave me my first book hangover of the year.  You can see my full review here.

Best Sequel of 2017 so far?

17927395

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. This sequel blew away the first book, and was easily one of the top 3 books I’ve read so far this year.  I feel like it’s rare for a sequel to actually be better than the original, and this one was so beyond the first one in every aspect.  You can see my full review here.

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to?

32076675

The People We Hate at the Wedding by Grant Ginder. I’ve been eyeing this book for a while, and I am really excited to read it.

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year?

33571713

A Column of Fire by Ken Follett. I. Cannot. Wait. For this book. The Pillars of the Earth and World Without End might be my favorite books of all time (excluding Harry Potter of course), and I am so ready for the next installment in The Kingsbridge Novels. I can’t remember the last time I was this excited for a book release.

Biggest disappointment?

119089

The Witching Hour by Anne Rice. I wanted to like this book so much.  Anne Rice has such a cult following, my lovely roommate included, and this book has really polarized reviews.  People either love it, or hate it, and unfortunately I was one of the latter.  There were some interesting scenes, but overall it was a huge snore, and I almost DNF’d it.

Biggest surprise?

28374007

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake.  I had never heard of this book when my roommate brought it home.  It sounded like it had a really great premise, and we were not disappointed.  I DEVOURED this book and it gave me the biggest book hangover.  I cannot wait for the second one to come out in September.

Favorite new author? (debut or new to you)

I’m torn between Kate Morton and Sarah J. Maas.  They’re very different though, so they speak to different parts of me.

Newest fictional crush?

Rhysand from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.  Move over Feyre.

Newest favorite character?

Sookie Stackhouse from The Sookie Stackhouse Novels by Charlaine Harris. She is just so damn loveable.

Book that made you cry?

21853621

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. Uncontrollable sobbing. I scared my boyfriend.

Book that made you happy?

30253864

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham.  I love Lauren Graham.  Her book was so inspiring and had me smiling the entire time.  I want to be her best friend.

Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year?

19486412

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. I thought the HBO show was really well done.  The acting was fantastic.  See all of my thoughts here.

Favorite review you’ve written this year?

STRANGEMEDICINE

I had a lot of fun reviewing Strange Medicine by Mike Russell for StrangeBooks.  It was one of my first reviews ever, and it was a completely new genre for me.  See my review here.

Most beautiful book you’ve bought this year? (or received)

21853621

This book wins again for most beautiful cover and content.

What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

There are too many to list all of them, but one book that has been on my list FOREVER and I need to finally read is The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho.

865

 

What are some of your favorites so far?  I’d love to hear some more recommendations to add for the second half of the year! I tag anyone who, like me, wants to join in the fun! Happy reading!

 

11 thoughts on “Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

  1. Your recommendations are interesting and I love that you’re a Ken Follett fan like me (and millions of others)! Can’t wait for his newest novel. Wasn’t William the worst (or best) villain of all time?

    Like

    1. The WORST. I honestly don’t think I have ever hated a character more than I hated William. I love all of Ken Follett’s historical fiction books. I haven’t read any of his thrillers or spy novels, cuz that’s not usually my cup of tea, but I should probably give them a shot because I love the way he writes.

      Like

  2. I still need to read ACOMAF and Three Dark Crowns, and I won’t lie: I’m not looking forward to ACOMAF. I really disliked ACOTAR (and Rhys…) but I’m willing to persevere because so many people say it’s such a good sequel! I’m hopeful for Three Dark Crowns, too, if you say it was good 🙂

    Charlotte @ Bookmarks and Blogging

    Like

    1. I was very luke warm after ACOTAR. I liked it enough to keep reading the second one, but I wasn’t super invested. I’m so glad I kept reading though. The second one is light years better. And I hope you like Three Dark Crowns. I LOVED it. It was so much darker than I expected and I was totally on board.

      Like

  3. What a fun tag this is! I want to read a lot of the books you talk about – especially The Nightingale. I’ve had Three Dark Crowns for a while now, and I really want to read it but I never seem to find the right time! Nice post 🙂

    Like

  4. Love this!! I just started reading the Throne of Glass series, and Sarah J. Maas is such an amazing author!! I can’t wait to read the Court books too!
    Also, if you loved Three Dark Crowns, you should read her other book (aka my favorite book in the world) Anna Dressed in Blood! It’s set in our world, but it is SO AMAZING!! And better than TDC in my opinion.

    Like

Leave a comment