Book Reviews

A Court of Mist and Fury

17927395A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads Summary: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

*mini spoiler alert*

My Thoughts: WOW. I am still reeling from this book.  I enjoyed A Court of Thorns and Roses, but this one was infinitely better than that.  It almost feels like the first book was just the set-up for the real story in this one.  I liked the characters from the first book, but other than Feyre, I didn’t feel any strong connection to them, especially to Tamlin.  In A Court of Mist and Fury, I felt the complete opposite.  All of the secondary characters from the Night Court were so well developed and interesting that they could each lead their own books.  I cared deeply for all of them and loved every glimpse that Maas gave us into their backgrounds and histories.  I liked Rhys from the first time we met him, and now I can safely say that I am in love with him.  He is such a complex character, which was a great change from the one dimensional Tamlin, and his relationship with Feyre felt beautiful, real, and very healthy.   They had fabulous chemistry and the gradual build up and development of their love was perfect.  I was feeling happy, and a bit smug, that my instincts about Tamlin in the first book were correct. The world building in this one was also ten times better than A Court of Thorns and Roses.  I was able to fully grasp Prythian and the rules of the Fae, where they used to be a little murky.  I loved learning more of the history and understanding of the politics between courts.  The plot was consistently exciting, and flowed very well, with lots of twists and turns that I didn’t see coming.  My emotions were on a roller coaster throughout the entire story, and that ending packs a punch.  I admit that I felt wrecked after I finished it for a solid chunk of time.  I cannot wait to dive into the third book.  Book Hangover for sure.

Untitled design (5)

Book Hangover

6 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury

  1. hahaha I have to admit I felt a bit smug for not liking Tamlin in book 1 too!! And I definitely thought Rhys and Feyre’s relationship was *so much* healthier!! And yes, this book gave me a massive book hangover too. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

