ARCs · Book Reviews

Don’t Hate The Player by Alexis Nedd

By day, Emilia is a field hockey star with a popular boyfriend and a mother obsessed with her academic future. But by night, she’s kicking virtual ass as the only female member of a highly competitive eSports team. Emilia has mastered the art of keeping her two worlds thriving, which hinges on them staying completely separate.

When a major eSports tournament comes to her city, Emilia is determined to prove herself to the male-dominated gaming community. But her perfectly balanced life is thrown for a loop when a member of a rival team—Jake—recognizes her . . .

From an exciting new talent, this sweet and charming YA romance will win the hearts of gamers and non-gamers alike.

*I received a copy of this book in return for an honest review! Thanks to Bloomsbury YA for the opportunity!*


I enjoyed every minute of Don’t Hate the Player. Popular smarty, Emilia, is leading a double life as a gamer-girl and is ripping apart at the seams trying to hold it all together. When a childhood gamer friend, Jake, recognizes her at a gaming tournament, her bubble is threatened to burst. It was a funny, nerdy, and heartwarming story full of witty and intricate characters. I wasn’t sure how I felt about Emilia, as she had a hard and snobby exterior at first, but she really grew on me as she let her guard down to Jake, who was one of the most endearing characters I have ever seen. The book was mostly told from Emilia’s POV but was intermixed with lively chat logs from Jake’s teammates and a few chapters from Jake’s perspective that really elevated the storytelling to another level. The plot was fast-paced and exciting while still being entirely character-driven, and the twist at the end was fantastic. This book had me literally laughing out loud the entire time with its dialogue, earning me a few questioning looks from my boyfriend. I found myself thinking about it whenever I wasn’t reading it and couldn’t wait to get back to these characters. Don’t Hate the Player was an enchanting YA contemporary and I am really looking forward to more books from Alexis Nedd.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Hate The Player by Alexis Nedd

Leave a comment