Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Meant to Read in 2017

toptentuesday

As I excitedly get going on my TBR for 2018, I have to take a good look back at all the books I didn’t quite get to in 2017.  This week’s theme from The Broke and the Bookish helped me narrow down which books I am the most sad about having missed, and will definitely get to this year.  Here are the Top Ten Books I Meant to Read in 2017!

34037113

The Rules of Magic by Alice Hoffman

This one is killing me the most. I have been wanting to read it ever since I heard it was coming out, and because of my book buying ban, I haven’t had a chance to get it yet.  I WILL get it soon, and I will finally read it.


1278752

The House at Riverton by Kate Morton

I fell in love with Kate Morton after reading The Forgotten Garden last year, and I ordered this on ThriftBooks immediately after finishing because I couldn’t wait to read another one of her books…. and I haven’t gotten to it UNTIL NOW! I just started reading, and after the first chapter I knew it was going to be magic.  Now I remember why I wanted another one of her books so badly.


16034235

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I keep putting this off until I get through some of my other series, but I will FINALLY get to it this year.  Most likely sooner rather than later.  My roommate liked it more than ACOTAR, which I loved, so I’m excited.


25740412

The Black Witch by Laurie Forest

I impulsively bought this book when I went for a different release because I HAD to have it.  I have a problem. Still haven’t read it, but I want to get to it before the feeling of “newness” wears off.  It keeps staring at me on my shelf.


20764879

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

 I read A Darker Shade of Magic last April, and I was kind of indifferent about it.  Since everyone seems to love this series so much, I really want to try the second one and see if I can finally get on the band wagon.


23437156

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I NEED this book.  I can’t wait to read it.  Another one affected by my book buying ban… Oh wallet why can’t you be fuller!?


32620332

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

I am all about this story, and I need some more non-fantasy books in my life right now.  This just sounds so up my alley.


30201327

The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O’Neill

I almost broke my book buying ban yesterday and got this… I have been captivated by this cover and summary ever since I first saw it, and it’s killing me not to own it.


581811

Valley of the Dolls by Jacqueline Susann

This is one of my friend’s favorite books of all time, and I have been wanting to read it for a while.  I bought it last year to read for my Classics Club Challenge, and never got around to reading it.


865

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

I have no excuses for why I haven’t read this yet.  It has been on my TBR FOREVER.  It’s actually embarrassing that I haven’t read this yet. This is the year.  It’s happening.


 

Which books did you miss in 2017?

What books are you looking forward to reading this year?

Let me know in the comments! Happy reading booknerds 🙂

 

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Meant to Read in 2017

  1. You MUST read Throne of Glass series so we can have discussions on these books! They are really good. Six of Crows was an awesome book and the characters are wonderful. I still need to read Crooked Kingdom though. I need to read A Gathering of Shadows as well because I loved A Darker Shade of Magic. Wonderful list I hope you get to read these all in 2018 and I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

    Like

  2. I have heard of Six of Crows, but I for some reason I haven’t got to it either. But the cover looks fun ❤ Also, the Alchemist was lovely!!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh I hope you will give A Gathering of Shadows a chance this year and that you will end up enjoying it. I love the whole series, even if I thought the first book had a bit of a slow start, the world-building is incredible. Hope you will love it 🙂
    Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment