Book Reviews

ARC Review: Murder at Macbeth by Samantha Armstrong

45300231Summary: WHOSE DEADLY SECRET HAS TAKEN CENTRE STAGE?

When a talented, young actress unwittingly stabs herself live onstage after a prop knife is tampered with, suspicion immediately falls on her eclectic band of castmates.

But who had the motive to kill the show’s leading lady?

As the insightful, yet disillusioned, Detective Inspector Finley Robson and his shrewd partner, Detective Sergeant Nadia Zahra, interrogate the seven key suspects, secrets unfold to unveil a web of scandal, blackmail, and deceit.

Bitter rivalries, secret trysts and troubled pasts are just the beginning of the story…

Set against the backdrop of a gritty London theatre production of Macbeth, this compelling novel explores a dark world of mystery and intrigue. All is not as it seems…

A hugely gripping police procedural full of unpredictable twists and suspense, Murder at Macbeth will captivate you from the very first page and keep you guessing right until the end.

With an intriguing plot and distinctive characters, this English murder mystery is a compelling whodunnit which is perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins, Karin Slaughter and LJ Ross.

*I received a copy of this book from the author in return for an honest review*


My Thoughts: As a theatre actress and obsessive Criminal Minds/ Law and Order SVU fan, I was so excited to read this book even though it is not my usual genre to read.   In this one, an actress accidentally stabs herself onstage when a prop dagger is switched for a real one and her castmates are the only suspects.  While I love watching them on tv, I do have to admit that police procedurals are not the most exciting thing for me to unravel in book form.  While the plot was interesting and held my attention, I found myself bored by the format (which I don’t think was the author’s fault, but rather my own personal genre preference).  There were some nice, more narrative-like, flashbacks that broke up the investigation and really helped build the tension and mystery which I was pleased with.  I had no idea who the culprit was going to be and was kept guessing until the last moments, but I never felt like I could fully invest myself in the story or its characters and therefore was underwhelmed at the conclusion.  I think that readers who enjoy this type of genre and format would really get into this one, and I’m glad I gave it a go, but the genre just not my cup of tea.

Untitled design (2)

Advertisements

One thought on “ARC Review: Murder at Macbeth by Samantha Armstrong

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s