Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Can’t Wait to Read With My Future Children

Happy Tuesday friends! I just got back from a magical trip to London, and it feels good to jump back into blogging with this week’s Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish!  I cannot wait to read to my kids someday, and I have a running list of all the books I want to share with them.  Here are ten books that are at the top of my list!

1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

Obviously.

3

2. The Little House Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder

This was one of the first series my mom ever read to me, and I was so enamored with Laura’s story and her family’s life on the prairie.

441602

3. The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams

I still have my stuffed rabbit from when I was a baby, so I obviously loved this story as a kid.  To this day I still think Bun Bun is real now.

144974

4. Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein

I LOVE this book.  I would read it and re-read it for hours.  I think I still have some of the poems memorized… My favorite was Peanut–Butter Sandwich.

30119

5. The Sammy Keyes Series by Wendelin Van Draanen

We read the first book in class in 5th grade, and I fell in love and read all of them.  I loved a good mystery.

361587

6. The Doll People by Ann M. Martin and Laura Godwin

I remember being SO excited when I finished this book, and kept trying to find someone to share it with.

268917

7. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

I didn’t read this until fairly recently, and I wish I had read it as a kid.

5907

8. Matilda by Roald Dahl

I love all of Roald Dahl’s books, but I think Matilda is my favorite.  I started reading it to the kids I nannied and we had so much fun with it.  Still a classic.

39988

9. Holes by Louis Sachar

Holes is one of the first books I remember being blindsided by.  I was so shocked and entertained by the ending, and I can’t wait to see how my future kids react.

38709

10. The Nancy Drew Series by Carolyn Keene

Nancy Drew made me love mysteries and reading.  I wanted to read all of them, and now I want to collect the entire series so I have them to share with my kids.

48741

 

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Can’t Wait to Read With My Future Children

Leave a Reply

