Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Were a Chore to Get Through

I missed last weeks Top Ten Tuesday, but I’m glad to be back with this one! This week’s theme from The Broke and the Bookish was “Books That We Struggled With.”  Here have been some of my hardest to get through reads.

119089The Witching Hour by Anne Rice: I love witches.  I always have, and I also love a book with a deep background and character history.  So, this book should have been perfect for me.  I hated it.  There was hardly any plot and read it like a text book.  There were a few exciting sections that I actually enjoyed, but when there are maybe 100 entertaining pages in a book of 1200 pages, that is a problem.  I pushed through, but when I finished I was left wondering why I bothered.

17465453The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert: Eat, Pray, Love changed my life, in the most cliche and uncliche ways possible.  When I found out that Elizabeth Gilbert also wrote a few fiction books, I was so excited, but this book was a STRUGGLE for me.  I couldn’t connect with any of the characters and the plot was too slow to keep me entertained.

 

10988Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon:  I loved Outlander, but as the series went on, I kind of lost my enthusiasm.  I still plan on finishing the series, but I’m more hesitant to start the next one because I know it is going to be a big undertaking.  I am also less invested in the plots of the later books and they seem to drudge on more and more, unfortunately.  Jamie Fraser still has my heart though.

10692The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova: I read this book on spring break in high school, and it took what seemed like FOREVER to finish.  It seemed so intriguing at first, and then I was just lost and reading to get to the finish line.  Probably not the best choice for a beach read though..

 

37442Wicked by Gregory Maguire: As a huge fan of the musical, Wicked, I just had to read the book.  It is very different from the stage version.  It is darker, very political, and I didn’t enjoy it.  I wanted so badly to love it, but I couldn’t get on board.  Still love the idea though.

 

2520383The Rose Labyrinth by Titania Hardie:  I found this book at Half-Priced Books, and the cover was beautiful, and the description sounded amazing.  It was not.  I honestly could not even tell you what happened in this book because it made absolutely no sense.  For some reason I finished it…

 

6101718The Magicians by Lev Grossman: This book had so much hype, and the TV series was coming out, and I thought I was going to be obsessed.  I hated it.  It was so pretentious, all of the characters sucked, and the entire book was so negative I couldn’t handle it.  I did not go on to read the rest of the series, although I hear the TV show is better than the book.

 

18730321Paris by Edward Rutherfurd:  I read this book when I went to Paris with my grandma, and it was cool to get the history of the city.  It was a little confusing with all the switching perspectives in different time lines, and it took me longer than I would have liked to read it.  I wanted to tackle this 800 page book, and even though it was sometimes a struggle, I did enjoy it overall.

 

21996The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson: This book was interesting.  I really loved the parts about the serial killer and that mystery, but the rest about the architects was too slow for me and I feel like I skimmed a lot of it to get back to the exciting parts.  I was happy when it was over and I could start a new book.

 

18405Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell: I LOVED this book, but man was it hard to get through.  Its 1000 pages were beautiful, and I am obsessed with Scarlett and Rhett, but it was no picnic.  I remember feeling so accomplished when I finished it.  I find myself wanting to re-read it, even though it’s a beast.

 

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Were a Chore to Get Through

  1. Great list! That’s a shame about The Witching Hour, I’m always on the look-out for more witcherature but judging by some of the reviews I’ve seen of this book I’ll be staying away from it. One of these days I’ll have to read The Historian, I’ve owned my copy for far too long.

    Like

  2. Yeah I’ve had a problem with Anne Rice and plot- I do like her writing style and a lot of her characters, I just wish there was more of a plot in her books.Oh gawd I couldn’t *stand* Wicked (I love the musical too though and you’re right about the idea) or the Magicians either (agree that it was pretentious). Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

