Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Lovin

Ever since I was a little kid, I have been OBSESSED with the movie Grease. Since this week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme from The Broke and the Bookish was a Summer Freebie, I thought what’s better than some “Summer Lovin’?” Here are some of my favorite love stories to heat up your summer!

7135858My Name Is Memory by Ann Brashares:  A few summers ago, I devoured this book.  I have always been fascinated with past lives, and this book does a fantastic job of exploring it in a beautiful and romantic way.  The love story literally spans centuries, and is extremely poignant and magical.

 

10964Outlander by Diana Gabaldon:  For me, Jamie and Claire’s love can’t be beat.  James Alexander Malcolm MacKenzie Fraser might be my favorite male fictional character of all time.  Although long, this book, and their love, is so engrossing that you won’t be able to put it down. Plus, there are plenty more books in the series, and the TV show, to keep you going after you’re done (although they’re not as good as the first one in my opinion).

138202Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty: I read this book when I was 16, and it was incredibly relatable and hilarious.  I followed the entire series, and aged with Jessica and Marcus which kept everything they were going through so relevant to me.  Their love story is real, and sweet, and a perfect mess.

 

18405Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell: One of my favorite dysfunctional love stories, Gone With the Wind is a classic for a good reason.  It is a perfect summer read.  It’s epically long and beautiful, Scarlett is an amazingly complex anti-hero, and Rhett Butler is just downright sexy.

 

19448All-American Girl by Meg Cabot: This book gave me my first recognizable book hangover ever.  I fell in love with these characters, and their awkward teenage love blooming in the White House.  This book is one of the reason’s I am obsessed with Meg Cabot.

 

3975186True Colors by Kristin Hannah: If you want a heart-wrenching, tear-jerking romance, then this is the book you want.  It is very emotional, without being over the top, and is an example of Kristin Hannah at her finest.  I love all of her books, but this one might take the cake.

 

8667848A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness: At first this book may seem like a grown-up Twilight, but it is actually a lot more complex and well written.  As someone who loves witches, I was instantly drawn into this book and its concept.  The relationship between Diana and Matthew feels really real among the fantasy of the world.

 

42156Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin: A little unconventional love triangle between a girl, her best friend, and her best friend’s fiance, Something Borrowed is light- hearted, romantic, and page turning.  It will give you all the feels, with lovable characters, and in my opinion, an even better sequel.

 

301082 Dead Until Dark: I am obsessed with The Sookie Stackhouse Series, aka Trublood. The books are different from the TV show, for those of you who are fans, and they are super easy and fun reads.  Sookie is awesome, and her romantic trysts are always very entertaining and steamy. (#TeamEric)

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Lovin

  1. I loved loved loved Sloppy Firsts and All American Girl! I read both my freshman year in high school…or in 8th grade. They are very fun reads. i hope you enjoy the entire Sloppy firsts trilogy actually, I found it funny and cute.

    Like

  2. Yes! I read all the Jessica darling books and loved them all. And I love pretty much everything Meg Cabot has ever done. In my book she can do no wrong. All American Girl and the Princess Diaries were what made me fall in love with her originally.

    Like

  3. Perfect list!! I love Meg Cabot’s Heather Wells mysteries for summer but forgot to add it, I just saw your post and remembered.
    Here’s my TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

