Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Love at First Sight

I am super excited to join the Top Ten Tuesday meme from The Broke and the Bookish, with my first Top Ten list! Today’s topic is  a “Cover Theme Freebie,” so I am giving you my Top Ten Love at First Sight Books.  All of these books instantly attracted me by their covers alone, and ended up being worth it.  After making this list, I realized that all of these covers have similar elements, which I thought was interesting and really highlights what I am drawn to when choosing a new book.

187128861. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen: I first saw this book at Target and immediately fell in love with it before even reading the synopsis.  It just looked like something that would be right up my alley, and I was right.  I ended up loving the entire trilogy (all with equally gorgeous covers).

 

36822. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray: I love this cover.  It is so gorgeous, dark, and mysterious.  I remember finding this in the store back in high school and not being able to put it down because I was so drawn to cover, and I had to know what was inside of it.  I was not disappointed.

 

283740073. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake: I was super intrigued by this cover and picked it up right away to see what it was about.  I loved the simplicity and power that it has, and it gives you a good idea of the tone of the book as well.  I loved that it was darker and more vicious than a normal YA novel. I am eagerly awaiting the sequel.

 

86945224. The Witch’s Daughter by Paula Brackston: I love anything to do with witches, so the title of this one, along with the image on the cover made me do a double take.  There is a magical quality to the picture that drew me in.  I also want the boots she is wearing.

 

12549515. The Luxe by Anna Godbersen: My favorite era to read about is the turn of the century, so when I found The Luxe, I knew from the cover that I was going to love it.  It is to this day, one of my favorite YA series, and I would die for it to be turned into a TV show.  I even got my non-reading sister to try it because she liked the cover too.

 

161137916. The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen: I found this book while browsing on my kindle, and was in the mood for a good, easy romance novel.  This book immediately caught my eye with its cover, so I bought it and I ended up finishing it that same night.  It is a super fast read, full of teen angst, drama and romance.  They also deal with some pretty real issues that I was not expecting.

8167207. The Witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho:  I found this on my best friend’s bookshelf, and I was drawn in by the contrast of the dark blue background and brightness of the woman, and her pose.  However; this book turned out to be very different than I expected from the cover, but I loved what I found.  It is beautifully written, and I loved the air of mystery surrounding the main character.

10507293 8. The Selection by Kiera Cass: I’ll be honest.  The main reason I wanted to read this series is because of the dresses on the cover.  After hearing a friend tell me what they were about and that they were actually good, I finally picked it up and read the whole series in a week.  They’re not the deepest of novels, but they were super entertaining and they look really nice on my bookshelf.

9. 10002296Wildflower Hill by Kimberley Freeman:  My eyes went straight to the bright colors of this book on a table at Barnes and Noble.  I immediately wanted to know the story of the woman on the cover.  I devoured this book.  I brought it on a plane, and I could not put it down the entire flight.  I love a good historical fiction, and this one really hit the spot.

 

2218810. Gossip Girl by Cecily von Ziegesar:  I found the Gossip Girl series in middle school, and I wanted to read it because the girls on the covers were so dynamic and lets be real, I wanted to be them.  I finished the whole series, and gobbled up the TV show (even though they are very different and almost unrelated after the first season).  The series is delightfully dramatic and the books are super quick and easy reads.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Love at First Sight

Leave a Reply

